What is the National Continued Competency Program?

The National Continued Competency Program (NCCP) was constructed using methodology similar to that of the American Board of Medical Specialties requirements and streamlines the recertification process into three strategic categories of continuing education: National, Local, and Individual.

The National Continued Competency Program encourages Nationally Certified EMS personnel to pursue life-long education while also providing state and local agencies the freedom to customize continuing education to meet local operational needs.

The national component of the NCCP constitutes 50% of the total recertification requirements. Topics included in the national reflect current trends in evidence-based medicine, scope of practice changes and position papers from numerous associations involved with EMS research. There is an additional focus on those patient presentations that have a low frequency but high criticality.

National Component Requirements

Download the PDF
The local component constitutes 25% of the total recertification requirements. Specific topic requirements may be defined by your specific state, region or local agency. Examples of local content topics typically include state or local protocols, areas of specalization, or tasks that require additional focus based on QA/QI. The local component allows national recertification requirements to be adapted to the needs of the state and local agencies. If your state, region, or local agency does not specify topics, the content is considered flexible.
The individual constitutes 25% of the recertification requirements. Registrants are free to take any state or CAPCE approved EMS-related education.
State/ Local
Total Hours
Paramedic 30 15 15 60
AEMT 25 12.5 12.5 50
EMT 20 10 10 40
EMR 8 4 4 16

Training Officer Resources

Education Update

Download PDF

Education Update

Download PDF

Education Update

Download PDF
Education Update

Download PDF